Young Democrats of Harford County

For Democrats of all ages and other like-minded folks in Harford County, Maryland.

BBQ Bash experience

Posted by Annie on September 15, 2007

I am posting this on behalf of Harford Hon:

This year I attended the Bel Air BBQ Bash.  As I walked past a couple of the Republican venues I was taken aback by the vitriol directed against the Democratic Party and individual Democrats.  Days after the BBQ event is over, I am still trying to sort out some of the misinformation that the Republicans gave to anyone who would stop and listen.  I stopped to listen to a man explain how this current governor has tripled the tax rate for all the people in Maryland.  Funny, I recall the Governor’s budget being balanced without a tax increase in any area.  I was further told that the budget deficit was O’Malley’s fault.  So the questions I asked were: Haven’t we had a structural budget deficit for about six years?  Why didn’t the last governor (a Republican) do something about the deficit if the Republicans are now so concerned with the budget shortfall?  With that question the man shouted that O’Malley promised to fix the problem and it should have been done by now. 

As I walked away from this bitter and angry man I thought of the words of Confucius: “Strong and bitter words indicate a weak cause.”

– Harford Hon

Leave a Reply

 
